This Day in History: February 7th

Dear readers, I am so sorry about not posting yesterday. I forgot what time it was and was into my reading, visiting a friend, and then cooking dinner that I completely forgot about posting yesterday. I hope I won’t do that often. 

Today we celebrate a birthday on this day in history.

1867-1957

1867-1957

 

Happy 146th Birthday to Mrs. Laura Ingalls Wilder

I remember back in Elementary school I would pick up chapter books and one of them was titled, Little House on the Prairie. I have not read that series in such a long time.

Laura Ingalls Wilder was born on this day as Laura Elizabeth Ingalls in the “Big Woods” of western Wisconsin. She moved with her family to: Minnesota, Iowa, and finally South Dakota where her family established their homestead in De Smet. Laura described herself:

“I was a regular little tomboy, and it was fun to walk the two miles to school.”

Laura would not write her tales of her life until she lived in Missouri with her Husband, Almanzo (or Manly as she called him to which there was a ten-year difference between the two).  And so during the Great Depression, she asked her only child who would live to Adulthood, Rose (who was a writer) to look at her manuscript (which was written in pencil on lined school tablets). With the help of her daughter Laura would turn good chunks of her life into novels and in 1932 at the age of sixty-five Little House in the Big Woods was published.

Her book became a hit and soon after her first book many followed, such as Little House on the Prairie, Farmer Boy, and others.

Laura Ingalls Wilder died just three days after her 90th birthday (February 10th, 1957).

Leave a comment